Tax Commission

Tag Chart

The Sac and Fox Nation Tax Commission's responsibility is to administer and enforce the Nation's tax laws. The Tax Commission currently has six different types of taxes that are applied throughout Sac and Fox Indian country. These taxes are Tobacco Tax, Sales Tax, Earnings Tax, Oil and Gas Severance Tax, Taxation and Registration of Motor Vehicles, and Gaming Surcharge Tax.

The tax revenue received from these taxes are placed in the Nation's treasury account. These revenues are used to fund several different programss within the Sac and Fox Nation. The following programs are funded in full or in part by tax revenues: The Tax Commission, Tribal Court, Attorney General, The Sac and Fox Nation Public Library, Fire Department, Tribal Police, Defense of Laws, and General Operating. Other items are funded from tax revenues as needed.